Slug Wars: The Farce Awakens

 

Slug.

Gastropida; Stylommatophora; Arionidae; Arion.

Flash name for a blob of gunge that maintains an annual all out assault of mass destruction on us.

Yes, dear gardeners. This is a member of the dark side. The dark destroyer. The dark lord. The… ok, you get where I am coming from.

Darth Slugs Cary28117 cop

Never seen slugs with light sabres before?

The reason for my winging? Hostas. Since having a garden of my own for some years now I have always had Hostas. Lush, green, glossy. A super addition to shady parts of the garden until Darth Vader of the horticultural world sweeps in on his Tie Fighter and decimates said green gloss to a pitiful skeletal pile of green bones. *sigh*

I’m trying hard not to turn to the slug pellets so as to protect the wildlife we have here but when it comes to hostas I have felt pretty defeated. I have read up. I have consulted Jedi Don and Jedi Titchmarsh as well as the countless padawans on t’internet. Until I saw a tweet by, oh, who was it? (I’ll find the tweet and let you know), but they were using wool pellets and were having some success.

Then I had a brainwave.

The Trug household have been ordering up meal packages from a certain company. Not my usual thing but they have been a god send when long hours at work ruin our healthy eating habits. Back to the point, the items which need to be kept cold until we get the package are wrapped in ice and thick wool blankets.

IMG_4758

Me being as eco friendly as I can, I won’t throw them away. Some sheep and farmers went to a lot of effort to make that. Inside the plastic cover is a thick wad of natural fleece. They’ve been piling up in the garage while Mr Trug gives me withering looks of ‘why are we keeping these?’ until I thought of the slugs.

The hostas were in their early stages of popping the surface of the cold ground with early shoots so now was my chance.

IMG_4761

I cut up the fleece. Fluffed it up a bit and pegged it around the hostas as best I could.

I know the leaves will touch other plants and the slugs in their evil Tough Mudder style gymnastics will navigate these mini bridges but it’s worth a shot I reckoned.

May…                                                      Early June…

Not bad but….

May…                                                   Early  June…

Hmmm, not so good. But I think this is because they are touching so many other plants creating the slug bridge highways. Annoying. That said, they are better than last year. I had remnants left by now.

Conclusions? It’s not foolproof but I think the fleece has helped. I’ll revisit the Hostas in a few weeks and see if the dark side is winning. If any of you have better ideas then please do let me know otherwise hosta heaven will remain but a dream for me. I’ll update later in the season to see how they are doing.

May the force be with you fellow slug fighters.

Leave a Reply

